Nhà tù Hỏa Lò
Hoa Lo Prison was built by the French in 1896 with the name "Maison Central", where the revolutionary soldiers were detained against the colonial regime. This was one of the most solid constructions in Indochina at that time. After the liberation of the capital, the prison was placed under the authority of the revolutionary government. From 1963 to 1975, this place was also used as a detention center for American pilots shot down by the Vietnamese army during the war of sabotage in the North. Today Hoa Lo Prison has become a special historical relic with many valuable documents displayed and carefully preserved, attracting thousands of domestic and foreign tourists to visit each year.Hoa Lo Prison in English is Hoa Lo prison, located at 1 Hoa Lo Street, Hanoi. Previously, this area belonged to Nam Phu village, Tien Nghiem district. In the mid-19th century, Nam Phu village was merged with Nguyen Khanh village to form Phu Khanh village, belonging to Vinh Xuong, Tho Xuong, Hoai Duc, and Son Nam cantons.
Phu Khanh hamlet specializes in producing clay products such as earthenware, clay pots and earthen kilns for sale nationwide, so this area is called Hoa Lo village. When the French occupied Hanoi, people in the village had to move to other places, pagodas such as Luu Ly, Bich Thu and Bich Hoa were demolished to get land to build courts and prisons. Because the prison is located on the land of Hoa Lo village, it is called "Hoa Lo Prison".
Hoa Lo Prison was built by the French colonialists in 1896, at that time named "Central Prison". The courthouse was located on the opposite side of the prison in the East, Tho Nhuom Street in the Southwest, Richaud Street (now Quan Su Street) in the West and Rollandes Street (now Hai Ba Trung Street) in the North.#trip #vietnamtravel